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� 

Justice Court of Rosebud County 

 

 

Filing a Small Claims Complaint: Guidelines and Forms 
 

 
 
 
 

These are basic guidelines relating to a small claims action.   Neither the Judge nor the Clerk can 

provide legal advice or interpretation of law as it relates to a small claims suit. Please review the 

attached “Citizens Guide” before filing the Complaint. If you have questions or are unsure about 

certain procedures, seek legal advice from an attorney or refer to the Montana Statutes at 

http://data.opi.state.mt.us/bills/mca_toc/index.htm and, specifically, Section 25-35-501-25-35-807. 

 
Pre-filing requirement: Prior to filing the Complaint, a certified letter must be sent to the 

Defendant, demanding  payment or return of property. A copy of the 

letter must be attached to the Complaint. 

Jurisdictional Limits:          Recovery of personal property or money 
  Amount of Claim:               May not exceed $7,000 

Representation: A party may not be represented by an attorney in Small Claims unless both 

parties agree to have counsel 

Service on Defendant:        Defendant must be served in Rosebud County 

Signing the Complaint:      Plaintiff must personally appear and sign the Complaint before the Judge. 

Filing Fee:                          $30.00 
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SERVICE OF COMPLAINT ON DEFENDANT 
 
The Plaintiff - not the Court - is responsible for arranging service on the Defendant pursuant to the 

Montana Statutes.   Service may be made by the Sheriff’s Office ($50.00 fee) or process server.    

 
The Defendant must be served at least 5 days prior to trial. If service has not been made within 

that time, return all the documents to Justice Court so the hearing can be re-scheduled. 

 
After the Complaint/Order has been served, the original will be returned to you together with an 

Affidavit of Service and a statement of the service charges. 

 
PLEASE RETURN THE ORIGINAL COMPLAINT/ORDER AND AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE 

TO THE COURT AT LEAST 5 DAYS PRIOR TO THE HEARING! 
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SMALL CLAIMS COURT 
 
 
 

PLAINTIFF 
 
Before filing a Complaint, you must first send a 

certified letter to the Defendant demanding payment 

by a specific time.  A copy of the letter must be 

attached to the Complaint.  At trial, you will need to 

provide proof of mailing the letter. 

 
The sum of money or value of property being sought 

must not exceed $7000. 

 
The action must be filed in the County where 

Defendant lives or in a County where the Defendant 

can be served. 

 
Consider using a mediator or third party to assist in 

settling the dispute. 

 
Complete all information on the Complaint, including 

names of the parties, addresses and phone numbers. If 

you are suing a corporation, make sure the correct legal 

name is listed.  You must pay a $30 filing fee; 

however, if you cannot afford the fee, you may 

complete an affidavit requesting the Court to waive the 

fee. 

 
Request the Court to issue subpoenas for witnesses 

you will need at trial. 

 
If Defendant is not served at least 5 days before the 

trial, a new hearing date must be set. 

 
Bring all evidence, documents, and witnesses to the 

trial. 

 
If case settles prior to trial, file a signed statement with 

the Court and request that the case be continued 

without date or dismissed. 

 
Appeals of a Court’s decision must be filed within 10 

days from the date of the Judgment. Appeals in Small 

Claims cases relate to questions of law only; there is 

no new trial in District Court. 

DEFENDANT 
 

 
A trial date is listed on the Complaint/Order. If you are 

unable to appear on that date or if you cannot be 

prepared by that date, ask the Court to reschedule the 

trial. 

 
You may settle with the Plaintiff out of Court; if a 

settlement is reached, a written agreement, signed by 

both of the parties, must be filed with the Court. 

 
Consider using a mediator or third person to assist in 

settling the dispute. 

 
If you prefer to a trial by jury or want an attorney to 

represent you, you must file a motion within 10 days 

from the date you were served with the 

Complaint/Order and request that the case be removed 

to Justice Court. 

 
You   may   file   a   Counterclaim   with   the   Court, 

providing  the  amount  does  not  exceed  $6500.  The 

basis  for the  Counterclaim must  relate to the same 

issue stated in the Plaintiff’s Complaint. 

 
The Counterclaim must be served on the Plaintiff at 

least 72 hours prior to trial by the Sheriff’s Office or 

process server. 

 
You must pay a fee of $20 to file a Counter-claim. If 

you cannot afford the fee, request an affidavit to waive 

costs. 

 
Before the trial, request the Court to issue any 

subpoenas necessary for witnesses which you wish to 

have testify on your behalf. 

 
Bring all evidence, documents, and witnesses to the 

trial. 

 
Appeals of a Court’s decision must be filed within 10 

days from the date of the Judgment. Appeals in Small 

Claims cases relate to questions of law only; there is 

no new trial in District Court. 
 

  CITIZENS GUIDE                                  
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MAXIMUM CLAIM 

 
The amount at issue in a small claims case cannot exceed $7000 

 
The amount of claim must be a fixed amount that is easily determined, such as a balance on a bill. Small 

claims court cases do not address “damages” claimed for some sort of wrong. Claims may be filed in the 

County where the Defendant lives or in the County where the Defendant can be served. 

 
FEES 

 
A fee is required to file a Complaint or Counterclaim. Once a Complaint is filed, the Court will issue an 

Order to appear, and a process server or Sheriff’s Office will deliver the Complaint/Order to the 

Defendant. There is a fee for service of the Complaint/Order on the Defendant. It is possible to recover 

some of these fees as part of the resolution of a case. 

 
TIME LINES 

 
A hearing must be scheduled within 40 days of the date the Complaint is filed 

 
A Defendant must be given at least five days notice before the hearing 

 
The parties may ask the Court for more time. Typically, such a request must be made before the date of 

the hearing 

 
COUNTERCLAIMS 

 
If a Defendant believes the Plaintiff owes him/her money, a Counterclaim may be filed: The 

Counterclaim must involve the same dispute as the original Complaint 

The counterclaim must be served on the Plaintiff by the Sheriff’s Office or a process server at least 72 

hours before the scheduled date of the hearing 

 
The amount of the Counterclaim cannot exceed $6500 

 
SETTLEMENT OPTIONS 

 
Sometimes it is possible to settle disputes before the hearing and avoid small claims Court altogether. If a 

settlement is reached after the Complaint is filed, a written agreement should be signed by the parties and 

a copy filed with the Court. 

 
SUBPOENAS 

 
A party may ask the Court to issue subpoenas for witnesses. A witness can voluntarily accept service of a 

Subpoena; otherwise, a party must make arrangements through the Sheriff’s Office or process server to 

have the Subpoena served. 
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 
 

 

                                                                 CITIZENS GUIDE 
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ATTORNEYS 

 
Attorneys are not permitted in Small Claims Court unless both parties are represented by counsel. 

 
TRIAL 

 
The parties will be sworn and will, therefore, testify under oath. Facts will be presented, with each party 

telling their side of the story. Plaintiff will first present his/her case, and the Defendant will follow. Both 

sides may present evidence and call witnesses. Each side may also question the other person, as well as his 

or her witnesses, and may ask questions about any evidence presented to the Court. 

 
JUDGMENT AND RESOLUTION 

 
The Judgment is a written decision of the Judge. The prevailing party is entitled to collect the disputed 

amount, as well as costs of suit. Collection of payment of a Judgment is the responsibility of the Judgment 

Creditor. If the Judgment Debtor fails to pay, there are options for collections (i.e., through a Writ of 

Execution). 

 
APPEAL 

 
If either side is dissatisfied with the Court’s Judgment, the case may be appealed to District Court. The 

appeal must be in writing and must be made within 10 days from the date the Judgment is signed. An 

appeal addresses questions of law only; in other words, an assertion that the law was incorrectly applied 

to the case. The District Court Judge will not re-try the case or accept new evidence or testimony. The 

District Court Judge will review the transcript and evidence, and make a decision accordingly. 

 
LIMITATIONS 

 
A party may not file more than 10 claims in a calendar year, except claims involving shoplifting. 

 
GLOSSARY 

 
Plaintiff: the person alleging that he/she is owed money or property. Defendant: 

the person or party who allegedly owes money or property. 

Counterclaim: if a Defendant disagrees with the original claim and instead believes he/she is owed money 

or property from the Plaintiff, a counterclaim can be filed. 

 
Subpoena: legal document issued by the Court compelling a witness to appear at trial. 

 
 
 

Neither the Judge nor the Clerks can provide any legal advice. If you have questions, refer to the 

Montana Statutes and, in particular, Sections 25-35-501 to 25-35-807, 

or you may seek advice from an attorney 
 

 
CITIZENS GUIDE 


