POLICIES FOR THE FORSYTH CEMETERY

1. PRICE: Please place name of deceased next to service and attach to remittance check.

Single Lot, County Resident	\$200.00
Single Lot, Non-County Resident	\$400.00
Full Burial	\$350.00
Full Burial Monday, grave must be dug on the weekend	\$450.00
Full Burial Saturday &Sunday, Sextant must work overtime	\$600.00
Full Burial Holiday**, Sextant must work overtime	\$650.00
1 st or 2 nd Cremation Burial	\$175.00
3 rd Cremation Burial, Sextant must dig by hand.	\$350.00
1 st or 2 nd Cremation Burial Monday	\$275.00
1 st or 2 nd Cremation Burial Saturday, Sunday	\$300.00
1 st or 2 nd Cremation Burial Holiday**	\$325.00
3 rd Cremation Burial Monday, Sextant must also dig by hand	\$450.00
3 rd Cremation Burial Saturday & Sunday, Sextant must also dig by hand	\$600.00
3 rd Cremation Burial Holiday**, Sextant must also dig by hand	\$650.00
URN Vault	\$330.00
Funeral Setup (if not using funeral home)	\$100.00
**Emergency only	

2. The purchase of any lot in the Forsyth or Colstrip Cemetery entitles **only the right of interment.** <u>*Planting of trees and flowers are prohibited.*</u>

3. Lots are sold for no other purpose than for burial of Human Bodies or ashes of same. As Montana law has stricken the word deed from cemetery lot certificates, certificates should state "conveyance" rather than "deed".

4. Should an interment be made on a lot with questionable ownership, the wrongful party must bear the cost for disinterment and reinterment in another lot should a dispute arise.

5. When a lot owner dies intestate, the heirs are recognized according to the laws of Montana.

6. No sale, assignment or transfer of a lot shall be valid without the consent of the County and entry must be made on the records; lots cannot be sold independently and may be sold back to the county for the purchase price paid. A previously purchased lot may be "given" to a family member. No paperwork is required but the change(s) must be noted in the cemetery records.

7. All flowers must be removed from the cemetery within seven (7) days after Memorial Day; or they must be attached to the monuments- or placed in floral containers installed in the concrete bases in the monuments.

8. No fencing, roping or enclosure of any nature will be permitted upon graves or lots, except cornerstones.

9. No advertisement of any form will be permitted within the cemetery. Picking of flowers, breaking or injuring trees, plants or any other property within the cemetery **is** strictly prohibited. Fast driving will not be allowed. Vehicles must be kept on roadways. Neither picnics nor parties will be allowed on the grounds; and all children will be accompanied by an adult. Dogs will not be admitted to the grounds unless they are on a leash.

10. Monuments shall not exceed a total height of 24 inches and must be installed on a concrete slab 4 inches thick with a minimum of 6 inches for a border of the monument base and shall be flush with the ground and within the boundary and properly centered. Benches are allowed, but benches with a back are not allowed. Contact the Cemetery Management prior to placing monuments, as it needs to be marked out correctly prior to installation.

11. A casket or urn, in addition to a vault must be used for all burials. Containers/vaults shall be constructed of substantial materials other than wood. (Recommended maintenance vaults are fiberglass). Installation of section liners shall not be permitted.

12. No stacking of burials will be permitted with the exception of one cremated human remains on any individual grave space. Each space is solely intended for one burial.

13. No more than two burials per grave space. The two burials could include one full burial and one infant; one full burial and one cremation, or two cremations. Multiple burials per grave space, as stated above, shall be laid to rest as follows: one to the head and one to the foot of the grave. Monuments must be placed according to the rules and regulations.

14. On rare exception, a third burial may be permitted. In order for this to be possible it must be in one of the following sections, McTague, Second, Third or Fourth. Multiple burials per grave space shall be a full burial, and two cremations the first being at the head and the second at the foot.

15. Rosebud County is not responsible for maintenance of headstones.

Revised: August 2023 Effective rate change September 1, 2023