District Court Judge

Name Position Phone Email
Honorable Nickolas C. Murnion 16th Judicial District Court 406-346-6109
Alicia Fritz Judicial Assistant 406-346-6109 afritz@mt.gov
Sandra Blakesley Court Reporter 406-346-7310 sblakesley@mt.gov

The Sixteenth Judicial District includes Carter, Custer, Fallon, Garfield, Powder River, Rosebud and Treasure Counties. The District Court Judge hears cases in each of the 7 counties throughout the district. There are two elected District Court Judges in the Sixteenth Judicial District. Judge Michael B. Hayworth is headquarter out of the Custer County courthouse and Judge Nickolas C. Murnion is headquarter out of the Rosebud County courthouse.

The type of case the Sixteenth Judicial District oversee are Adoption, Civil, Criminal, Dependent Neglect, Domestic Relations, Guardianship, Juvenile, Paternity, Probate, and Sanity Cases. The District Court also conducts Judge Trials and Jury Trials in both Civil and Criminal cases. The County Clerk of the District Court is the official keeper of all District Court records.

The District Court Judge is unable to discuss any ongoing case with anyone. Please contact his Judicial Assistant or the Clerk of the District Court with any questions.

Helpful Links

Office Hours

Monday – Friday: 8 AM – 5 PM

Phone Number







1200 Main St
PO Box 107
Forsyth, MT 59327